Institutional Trader Career

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by chiefraven, Jun 11, 2010.

1. Hi,

Is anyone here an Institutional Trader or has worked at an institutional trading desk before?

I have a computer science degree from johns hopkins university. and have worked at a retail trading firm for 2 years in the past. In addition, i have about 4 years of trading experience in both futures/equities market.... at the moment, i'm also studying on series 7.

is there anything else i need to work on in order to become an institutional trader? what's usually the step by step approach for someone who wants to work towards becoming a trader for a big bank or investment firms like goldman, etc.

how are my chances? or do i need an MBA? :\
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

On a side note, i was wondering if any institutional trader could describe their work day? how is your work day like? what are some of the responsibilities a trader have to take on from say 7am -5pm.

i know that institutional traders make their money through commissions, so the volume they have to execute = how much they are making.... but say, a trader gets an order from the top to buy AMZN at around 25-26..... a trader might use the firm's capital to knock the price down while accumulating shares off the bottom.... etc etc... but what if, the institutional trader does something like this, but end up not being able to buy the shares at the desired price...say if another firm kept bidding the price up.... what happens then? how does an institutional trader trade? can someone describe the action from when he gets the order from above?