Input from intraday traders

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by jj90, May 4, 2006.

1. jj90

jj90

I've been recently interested in going prop, and have located a prop firm in my city. I'll refrain from mentioning the name. As I have no experience in intraday trading, I'm looking for inputs from those that have.

Let me clarify. I trade options primarily, and I know how to handle a position and my risk. I also know my entry/exit criteria. From what I could find using search on ET, daytrading is similar in some aspects but vastly different in others to options. While I realize I have to learn a new set of rules in the intraday market, my options background and experience is to me more important than making it as a day trader. I say that because I have heard from others that daytrading is the hardest equity trading out there as there is so many things that the other side can do to screw one over.

So I guess my question is, is daytrading integratable with my options trading, or is it 2 completely different games? Or perhaps this is a question that only I can answer.

The key point is that whatever knowledge of daytrading I acquire, shouldn't override my options knowledge. Side by side or complimentary yes, but never overriding. This is why I ask for inputs from those with experience. Of course I would like to succeed in the day trading arena, who wouldn't, but if learning a new game destroys my old game, I'd rather stick to my old game.

2. jj90

jj90

Let me rephrase my question. Are the mechanics of daytrading completely different from those of options? Another way of looking at it is, if you have 2 trading styles, is one exclusive from the other or does one inherently dominate the other from your experience?

3. Options are not used for day-trading.

Day-traders mianly use Equities, Futures, or Forex.

Options are mainly used for hedging, or speculation on a longer timeframe.