Initial Funding for a hedge fund

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Caroch, Nov 1, 2005.

1. Caroch

Caroch

I have been investing for many many years full time. I was the head trader at an upstart investment firm and found great success. Unfortunatly, due to problems with managment I have left the firm and cannot legally prove that the results were mine. Thus I have no track record.

I have wanted to start a hedge fund and spoke with various managers start up firms. They have convinced me that I need 1 million in assest traded successfully for one year, before I will get the attention of bif investors and fund of fund managers.

My question is if anyone knows where I can get that initially funding to create a track record. I have been advised of seed investors but cannot find any. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. nassau

nassau

You don't need a million dollars right now. What you need is the proven record data.
    So trade you style and make sure your records follow GAAP with 25k to start. If you show good risk management and a net profit of 3-5percent monthly you will have no problem getting partners,shareholders?
    Once you have 3months trade 100k for 3months as above and if you can generate the same profit under the same guidelines you will be able to give your partners/shareholders a dividend and the million will appear.
    You should look at being up and running as a fund one year from now.
    I would also use an outside accounting firm to verify my results.

You do this for 6months with success you contact me.

w

3. magicz

magicz

If you can attain those result consistantly over 1 year and not just average monthly, per nassau suggestion. you be better off pyramiding your money instead of making money for some else. just my 2 cent.

4. Did you sink your investors money into shares of Refco sir?