Information about Interactive Brokers

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by celedus, Jun 23, 2005.

1. celedus

celedus

Hi,
    I am a beginner trader - I have traded mostly on scottrade for the last two years. I want to do some spread trades on options. Maybe like 5 contracts per month on SPY, I was looking at IB and they looked good.
    Question is - they keep saying they are for professional traders - which I most definitely am not with 5 trades a month, are their charges higher for traders like me? Some other problems which I am failing to see? Is there someone else who is a better broker?
    Any guidance will be great,
    Thanks,
    Celedus

2. just21

just21

You have to pay exchange fees for the data if you do less than $30 in commissions.

3. celedus

celedus

Thanks,
    what do you think about MBT then? What is a good platform (cheap as well) for a beginner like me, who wants to slowly ramp up?
    Thanks again!

4. MBT is unreliable and has an amateur platform. i highly recommend IB.

5. MR.NBBO

MR.NBBO

IB is unrealiable now as well, they are both in the same boat, in my opinion.

MB has the standard direct access platform, while IB has something unique. If your a pro, you'll really appreciate the way that IB's platform is set up, after you learn it--it's excellent.

MB has a nice simple platform, but IB offers nice spread trade tools.

6. hajimow

hajimow