Inflation vs. Deflation

Discussion in 'Economics' started by Mike805, Oct 9, 2008.

1. In light of the recent market events I'm getting concerned my current asset allocation. Currently, my portfolio is as follows:
    15% = Cash.
    50% = Variety of hedge funds/funds of funds/mutual funds.
    25% = Personal short term trading accounts.
    10% = low risk IRA.

I'm relatively young, hence my risk appetite toward higher risk investments. All in all I've been doing the above ratio's for about 10 years with very good results. The 50% in hedge funds is well balanced and doing well this year despite the recent turmoil. The IRA is down about 40% this year (what a joke - mutual fund managers are worthless). My personal trading is good. But, being 15% in USD cash worries me...

I'm concerned about where our dollar is going. Today the dollar index is 81.4 and off its lows, crude is 84.93 and way off its highs... is this the mark of deflation? Should I be looking forward to a deflationary environment? Given that's the case, how does one position themselves for a deflationary economy?

What about inflation? Seems unlikely as the US as well as most of the world has just lost a tremendous amount of paper wealth in the last few weeks.

I'd like to know your ideas on what we're heading for - inflation or deflation and what would one should do about it in each case. The irrational side of me can envision wheelbarrows of cash in line at the supermarket, yet, it seems that all that cash just evaporated via this global-economic storm. What does one do? Stuff the "mattress" with t-bills, buy gold or, just hold the cash for a few years?

Mike

2. IMO, you've got a good mix. Also imho one of the biggest threats going forward is global currency collapse. For all I know it's weeks away. Gold is saying something.

I presume you own your residence as well?