indicators and forex

Discussion in 'Forex' started by watchdaride, Mar 7, 2004.

1. I have only traded forex and never got into stocks. I have been doing it for about 14 months.Still learning and trying everything out. After all this time of testing lagging indicators like rsi stochastic macd I still cant figure out the use for them. Yet all these books and courses stand by them. I use sar trendline fibs and pitchfork for my technical analysis.I look and see macd or rsi and its heading down and it hits a trendline and it goes right up. Do these lagging indicators work better in stocks or futures? I am thinking of giving up on figuring thier use?

2. When I started out a few years ago, I read those same types of books swearing by stochastics, RSI, MACD, etc. I tested them both as systems on their own and with different kinds of filters and came to the conclusion that they are worthless (for the most part).

In my opinion, all you need to trade is a ruler and daily, 60 min, and 10 min bar charts. Things like bollinger bands and moving averages are useful. The only indicator I use anymore is the ATR, and that's only to determine mechanical stop/entry points.

Good luck and happy trading

3. logikos

logikos

I agree with the poster above. Indicators, for the most part, are worthless. I certainly won't enter a trade based upon them. The words "overbought" and "oversold" are pure nonsense - the only way to know if a market is overbought is if buyers fizzle out at current price levels and no indicator can show this.

My exclusive use for indicators is to determine momentum. Sometimes it helps to see when current moves are stalling to determine a good exit strategy.