Index for pre and after hours??

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Stosh, Dec 8, 2008.

1. Stosh

Stosh

I recently started trading the ES. Would appreciate to be informed if there is an index to guage how stocks are trading in the pre-market and also in the after market trading hours. It seems that the standard S & P Index is only reported for regular trading hours (9:30 - 4:00 EDT). Am also wondering if pre-market and after-market stock trading is given much attention by index futures traders. Thanks for any comments, Stosh.

2. david22

david22

You could try monitoring the dax30 or ftse 100, both of which are major european indices and could be used for premarket analysis.

3. Surdo

Surdo

ES trades essentially 24 hours a day with a 15 min bathroom break at 4:15pm ET and a 30 min dinner break 5:30pm ET.

I am not sure what you are asking?

4. Stosh

Stosh

I'll rephrase in an attempt to clarify. In U. S. Eastern time zone, you can trade many U. S. stocks from 8:00 til 9:15 a.m. (pre-market) and you can trade them from 4:15 til 8:00 p.m. (after-market). I'm wondering if there is an index which tracks them during these times which are outside regular trading hours.....similar to how the S&P or the DJIA track them during the regular session. I suspect that there is no such indicator but thought that there may be something I have missed. I would think that the big boys would have some guage as to how stocks are trading during these pre and after hours? Thanks, Stosh

5. lindq

lindq

Your question still doesn't make much sense.

If you are trading the ES, then simply chart it on its 24 hour schedule and reference the timeframe you want, as it represents the S&P. Or, use the YM if you want to reference the Dow before and after 'regular' market hours.

6. GTS

GTS