Index/Equities Correlation Q

Discussion in 'Options' started by pattersb, Jun 22, 2006.

1. pattersb

pattersb Guest

Appreciate any input for this relative newbie to day/swing trading.
    (me)

One question, One request for opinion:

1. How is it that equities are so highly correlated with the Indices, SPX, DJX, QQQQ?

Do program traders determine their bid/ask by the index movements? It can't simply be overall market sentiment ... Can it?

2. I'm trying to guage the direction of the indices, and trade markets that are highly correlated but with a higher ATR than those indices, and more room to move on the down/upside.

I'm trading directional options, because I soooo enjoy tripling my principle. (and being a novice, I'm not quite ready to move onto spreads) ... SPY/QQQQ/DJX, just doesn't give me enough bang for my buck.

I've just arrived at this strategy, I use a variety of signals, to determine high probability directional movements ... of course, I'm still tweaking this ...

2. ktm

ktm

I'll throw in my two cents.

The equities ARE the indices. DJX is basically thirty of the largest and industry/sector leading companies. Many sectors will move in unison, so if the sector leader has improving prospects on a given day, the thoery is that the smaller fish benefit as well. You may have 30 stocks in a sector and 25 may be up because one of the bigger players received good news.

I think the same applies to SPX on a more granular scale. When working macro correlation angles, it is probably useful to just play entire sectors against each other.

3. you will have the same problem (price change vs relative IV/premium) with stocks .

4. itcob58

itcob58

try oex options,we are waiting for you.:D :p

5. pattersb

pattersb Guest

Of course, Im aware of this .

How can the nearly identical movement of the S&P and Dow be explained? They are not components of one another.