Independent Resolutions for Each Monitor

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by fonzfx, Jul 20, 2009.

1. fonzfx

fonzfx

Hi everyone, currently i have a low spec comp with a 15" CRT monitor. I want to add on either 2 20" or 22" LCD monitor for trading & charting. I am going to run them at different resolutions...eg. CRT (800x600) & 2 LCD (the max native resolution allow). Do i need a video card like the Matrox G450x2 MMS with independent resolutions capabilities for each monitor?

I have few cards in mind that might fit my 3 available PCI slots after reading this forum. These are the inexpensive ones i have found on eBay, Matrox G200, Matrox G200 MMS Quad, Matrox G450, Matrox G450 MMS Quad, Nvidia Quadro NVS 280. I realised that some cards are low-profile & some are half-length :confused: . I am a newbie to this type things, can anyone recommend and give me some advice on the right type of cards that can run independent resolutions and do fit my PCI slot. Thanks a million. :)

Here are my comp spec:
    IBM ThinkCenter E50 Small Desktop
    Intel® Celeron® D 331 Processor
    2.66GHz, 533MHz FSB, 256KB L2 cache
    Integrated Intel 915GV chipset
    3GB DDR2 PC-4200 SDRAM
    15" CRT
    Windows XP
    3 x half length PCI slot

2. Any video card will allow independent resolutions of monitors.

Those Matrox cards are probably too old to be the best choice for your new widescreen monitors.

Your computer should have a PCIEx16 slot, so the video card you should get is an Nvidia Quadro NVS 290 or 285, PCIEx16. They are half-height cards so will fit in your computer, but you'll want to be sure to get the "low profile" bracket to mount into your case.

Not sure whether you'll be able to run 3 monitors (including the oboard video)... that's up to the BIOS. If so, one video card and you're good to go.

If the onboard won't cooperate, you'll need to disable the onboard video and probably get an additional NVS 280 PCI... again, get the low profile bracket.

3. fonzfx

fonzfx