Income Through Vertical Spreads

Discussion in 'Options' started by uptickk, Oct 14, 2009.

1. uptickk

uptickk

Hello All,

I am pretty new to options trading, 3 months of paper trading and this will be my 2nd month of real trading. I learned a lot in those first 3 months of paper trading. Basically, I started selling covered calls and have since moved to a mix of covered calls and bear call spreads. I write my bear call spreads less with less than 4 or 5 weeks until expiration and out of the money and the same timing with my covered calls but they are in the money to keep things a bit more on the conservative side. Additionally, I only enter into trades where there is approx. a 75% of obtaining the maximum profit. I have several other things I look for but I don’t want to bore anyone.

I guess I have three questions

1) Are selling vertical spreads a viable way to produce monthly income over the long term? I generally look for 8-10% return a month but am happy with anything over 5%. Basically, I am selling time decay. I have been successful but I want to ensure it’s not a fluke.

2) Do most people who sell the spreads close them out before expiration? For the first time my short call is getting closer to being in the money then in my past. If you do, is there a rule of thumb you use (i.e. sell them the week before expiration?)

3) Is there an industry average risk to return ratio for the spreads? I know everyone trades differently but if I am collecting 0.45 on a 5 point spread, I stand to loose a good amount. But I also only will enter the trade if there is a 75% chance that the short call will not end in the money.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2. Hester

Hester