In the Money covered call + premium

Discussion in 'Options' started by medisoft, Sep 13, 2010.

1. medisoft

medisoft

Hi! I'm a little newbie on options. I started with beginners options, like covered calls, but I have a doubt.

I bought 800 titles of a stock, and after that I sold 8 contracts on a covered call in the money.

The price of the stock was about $6.5, and the strike I selected was $6 with a premium of $2.5, that gives strike+premium=$8.5.

The stock is now trading above $7 (about $7.2). Its value is greater than the strike, but not greater than the strike+premium. The contract expires on September 17 2010, if at expiration time the stock is below $8.5 (strike+premium) what I should expect to happen?

Does the buyer will exercise the option call, assuming part of the loss of the premium? or it will expire worthless?

2. Incorrect. you sold a call with intrinsic premium so your profit would be 2 not 8.5

The call you sold means the buyer has the right to take your stock away from you at 6 dollars a share regardless if it is even only trading for 6.10 dollars a share.

They deposit 6 dollar x 800 shares = 4800 dollars of cash in your account

if you add the 2.5 premium sitting in your account (which include intrinsic value) 2.5 x 800 = 2000 + 4800 = 6800

You paid 6.5 x 800 = 5200

So 6800 - 5200 = 1600 dollars your profit on monday after expiration friday

all the stock needs to do is go 1 penny over the strike price and you lose it.

3. medisoft

medisoft

I know that only 1 stock over strike then it can be exercised, but the question here is, if the buyer paid 2.5 premium (i mean 2.5*100 per contract), and right now if she exercise will need to take a loss, is it probable that the buyer actually exercise? Or will let the contract to expire?

4. The stock is ARNA. You are going to lose 50%+ on the long. So just get out now at a loss.