Important Decisions

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by RunTrade, Jun 11, 2007.

1. I have not posted here in quite some time due to the fact that I have spent that time more dedicated towards other university related activities.

Now that I have graduated:) , I basically need to decide where I will start my career. I graduated with a degree in Finance, minors in econ and IT. I have always had a passion in the markets and yada yada blah blah (the usual newbie looking enthusiasm). However, I did spend a ton of time learning and even experiencing the markets.

So here's the decision that I would like to hear your advise...

I am 95% certain that I will attempt some form of active trading as a primary source of income sometime in my life. So do I; a) get an enjoyable job and build my life around that for several years, then after saving cap. make a move towards trading OR b) join a prop firm now and see if doing what I'm most passionate about pans out. However, I am very underfunded right out of college so I may get stuck on a poor deal or be forced to take a signifigant loan.

I appreciate anyone's response although I would love to hear from a few people that I have come to respect from several years ago. Also, I would appreciate if you leave any prop firm biases out of your response as that is a different topic altogether.

~RT

3. The fake tudor is right. By the way, just threw him on the ignore list too. How could the fake tudor not join the list?

"Get an enjoyable job and build my life around that for several years, then after saving cap. make a move towards trading."

I say just stick with the enjoyable job and then trade on the side. There are some people I know of who make good money at prop (hundreds of thousands), but then there are those that dont make dime one(lose their ENTIRE deposit).

Just stick with the job.