i'm a rookie

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by visapaymenr, Dec 19, 2007.

1. I'm about to start working with a prop firm offering no salary. they also require me to invest 5k.

1) what amount of money can i expect to make within the next 6months- 1year? How much money do you guys make?

2)Do i need to invest more money to be able to make a living of stock trading?If yes, how much?

thx

2. What kind of % payout are you gonna get?

How are losses split?

What are the charges per trade or per share?

3. $5K is really a low amount...but, it all depends on what you're planning on doing? Our Opening Only strategy that many of our new traders do has a very high win/loss ratio, and most make a little money with that from the get-go (then they keep trading and tend to give some back until they develop their intraday trading plan, determine which 2 or 3 stocks to trade, etc.). This strategy takes a $million or more of opening only orders, however.

Learn to trade the MOC imbalances on a daily basis.

Don't dive into the "stock of the day" based on some "gawdawful" factor like most up, most down, or some silliness. Be careful of news stocks.

I tell my people to not plan on making money for 6months or so. If you're even in 6 months, then you have a good chance of doing well.

FWIW,

Don

4. About 90% chance you will either lose all your cap or some of it. About 5% you will breakeven, and 5% chance you will be up 10k or less.

I have been in prop trading world over 8 years now, these numbers may seem scary but they are true. After 1 year, if you are in the 10% mentioned above, you then have a very good chance of making solid money as a trader. DO NOT try and make money, try to not lose it, or lose as little as you can while you learn. Make sure you have enough saved up to support yourself for at least 1 full year.