I'm a profitable trader but I need some help.

Discussion in 'Trading' started by athlonmank8, Sep 8, 2007.

1. Im solidly profitable.

With that said i'd like to begin with the stats.

I'm averaging 2.4% per week on a systematic trading style i've developed for the S&P.

Over the past two weeks i've had 1 down day and am trading at about 74% accuracy on 200+ trades in that given time.

I made this thread because I now know I can go into the market on any given day and make money with confidence. 8 years it's taken me to get this feeling of success.

Now here's the problem..... that 2.4% only amounts to roughly $150 which is almost nothing.

My question is when did you start increasing position size based on account size? I need to open things up a bit but was just curious how people have gone about doing this without having an emotional impact.

2. I'm a strong believer in position size management and it has helped me tremendously in increasing my profit level.

First of all, the market is not the same each trading day and often not the same through out the trading day from one trade to the next trade.

Yet, most traders use the exact same position size as if the market is the same.

Here's a simple example of using position size management to increase your profits just in case those reading this do not understand.

Lets say your stats show that your winning percentage between 0930am - 11am is 87% while your only 64% winning percentage between 11am - 1:30pm...

That piece of info should tell you when to increase your position size and when to leave your position size at normal.

Further, if there's a time zone when your below 50%...that's a time zone you should be reducing your position size or staying on the sidelines.

Now here's a more complex example.

Lets say your more profitable during rising volatility market conditions and less profitable during declining volatility market conditions...