I'm a noob to Forex

Discussion in 'Forex' started by Audacity17, Aug 8, 2005.

1. Title pretty much says it all. I have traded stocks, options and futures. I went from a blowout to breakeven to a profitable trader. The last year or so I've been amassing some money to trade with and I notice that everyone seems to be talking about forex. I assume the main reasons are the liquidity and the leverage. But I have a few questions.

What is the volatility like on the mains? Compared to NASDAQ stocks during the bubble? S&P futures?

What is so special about Oanda? The ability to trade odd lots?

What datafeeds do people use? I see talk about platforms through the brokers, but what about Esignal? Do their prices keep up with what is going on?

I would assume in currencies that trend following systems work well? Yes, no, depends?

I understand you can trade this market 24 hours a day. What time is considered the start of the day and end? Does volatility etc change dramatically when certain markets log on/off for the day?

Do you trade this technically, fundamentally, both or just wing it?

2. Audacity17, when you make the switch (addition?) to forex think of it this way..

With stocks, you're trading parts of a company (shares); with forex, you're trading parts of countries (units).

If you are long Microsoft at 27.76 it can go to zero - 2,776 points - you are out X-amount of money.

However, with currency pairs such as GBP/USD, currently trading at 1.7745, and you are long, it can tumble 17,745 points.

Quite a difference.

Besides that, with stocks you have something tangible between you and your counter-party, i.e. the stock.

But with currencies, there's nothing in between you and the other side of your trade - just money - only money.

Pure liquidity.