If you Trade, you need to do this asap.

Discussion in 'Networking and Security' started by mtcx2009, Mar 29, 2009.

1. mtcx2009

mtcx2009

I work in the tech field, so I thought I would give some advice to those who decide to avoid the inevitable day when the pc dies in the middle of a trade.

Some of this will be beyond the average Joe, but the more you can follow it the better off you will be.

1. Get a UPS power supply. Plug in the pc, monitor, modem, firewall and router to the UPS. Aside from lightning protection I guarantee one day your power will go out. It is only a matter of time. They start at $55.00 and will allow you to close your trade and shut down your operating system when the power goes out.

2. Build a computer or have someone close to you build a pc from name brand standardized parts. If your power supply or memory dies, you can get one quickly locally vs. sending it off to or calling Dell or a major pc maker.

3. If you can afford to build two full pc's, then do it. Leave one loaded and ready to go in case your main machine dies.

4. If you cannot afford two machines, at least get a removable hard drive bay. Load identical new drives for trading software and OS only. If one stops booting or is hit with malware, you can turn off, slide it in and reboot to a working clone drive and be trading again in minutes. This is CHEAP insurance.

5. Don't email, web browse, fileshare, mp3, instant message or ANYTHING else with your trading pc or trading drives. Do not use your family pc to trade from. Do not let anyone use your trading pc. The average person will be infected with malware many many times due to human nature. Yes, even with antivirus and firewalls it IS going to happen.

6. Only load the exact software you need on your drives. Keep your operating system, trading software, video card drivers and antivirus up to date.