If Intrinsic Value = Option Price Why Buy OTM?

Discussion in 'Options' started by zghorner, Sep 12, 2019.

1. zghorner

zghorner

Why would anyone buy OTM options when they could buy ITM options where the intrinsic value is basically equal to the price of the option? It seems to me like betting solely on extrinsic value via OTM is a bad idea...giving something for nothing in hopes it turns into something. Where does time value factor in to your trading strategy?

And i know i am a noob-ass on an "elite" trading site asking rudimentary questions but please help a brother out. I do appreciate the help.

2. Where did you get this ridiculous notion?

Option sellers are trying to capture the time premium. How to they earn a profit if they sell at intrinsic value?

3. zghorner

zghorner

[​IMG]

4. zghorner

zghorner

look at the circled ITM calls vs the $20.5 strike calls in the same date that cost $0.17 and are $0.78 OTM.

5. zdreg

zdreg

Get a books on options.

krugman25 likes this.
  6. tm689

tm689

You buy out of the money options if your view is different from the consensus. They are also cheaper.You will get a bigger percentage return if your outlook proves correct.
    Unless you are employing an advanced option strategy you are probably better off just buying the stock (rather than buying an ITM option) since you are subject to time premium decay in your ITM option as time passes. With the stock might also be able to collect a dividend.

zghorner likes this.
  7. Yeah I think this is too basic a question to not put some time in yourself reading some basic books. it would take too long to explain and not sure you have the fundamentals to understand the answer.

Read up on intrinsic and time value and option pricing and you will get a better foundation.

Bottom line an option you buy can go up in price based on delta and/or volatility even if it is OTM when you bought and still OTM currently and you make money.

8. krugman25

krugman25 Guest