If I Was a Trader, I’d be the dumbest Trader on Earth

Discussion in 'Trading' started by KGTrader4, May 21, 2022.

1. KGTrader4

KGTrader4

Now that I’ve got your attention lol….

I say IF I was a trader, because I’ve got so much to learn before I can call myself one.

anyway, I’ve managed thru this clown show called 2022 pretty well. Keep in mind I’ve always been a long term investor and have tended to “buy and hold”. Now that im retired from advisory, I’ve been able to be more active, and about 3 months ago I sold a bunch, including about $450k in S&P 500 ETFS. M”strategic allocation for my long term (IRA) money is 65% equity. I’ve been around 35%.
    And year to date, im down 6.8%, so im happy.

BUT WHEN IT COMES TO TRADING, I have this big problem called lack of patience and discipline. I think it stems fro FOMO.

Yesterday, I was really liking the strength the market was showing and reversal near the close. So at 3:55PM I put $120k into SPY and 50K into QQQ. I also sold my 2x inverse fund QID, which I’ve owned for a few weeks. Thinking we are close to washed out , due for a bounce and the late day reversal up made me think it might be coming next week.

WTF is wrong with me? Discipline is so hard to develop. I shouldn’t be trying to play a bounce in this market. Hopefully I get lucky and get out on Monday with a gain.
    I’m not even putting this in my trade journal, because it’s not really a trade. It’s a dumbass move on a hunch.

F me.
    Rant over. Thanks for letting me get it out of my system

2. Nobert

Nobert

How did you manage to - professionally manage, other peoples funds, without those essential skills ?

3. KGTrader4

KGTrader4

Easy, I didn’t trade often. I was a CFP, and after planning, did mostly asset allocation, using index ETFs. When I bought individual stocks, it was mostly large cap dividend payers/growers that I bought and held.
    I sometimes reacted to market gyrations, but not often, and I trained my clients to think that way