ideal monitor setup

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kornholio, Aug 23, 2003.

1. kornholio

kornholio

Hi all!

I am sure this question was asked before but I just couldn't find the thread.

I am new to day trading and I was wonderring what is the ideal monitor setup for a day trader. More specifically I would like to know how many monitors should be used, and what should each monitor be showing while trading to help maximize efficiency.

I plan to be very active in day trading, and I trade nazdaq, nyse and options.

Thanks for helping me out and good luck to all of you.

2. I suppose it all depends what kind of software you are using. But I'll tell you a little about my current set up.

I filter trade NYSE and trade the SPDR (SPY) ETF on the side. I've got four 15 inch LCD monitors. From my left to right....The monitor to my left is equally partitioned into four charts. 1) a daily candlestick, 2) 15 min intraday candlestick showing 3 days, 3) 5 min intraday candlestick showing 1.5 days, 4) 2 min intraday candlestick showing 0.5 of a day. All four charts have volume and a 8 period EMA....

The next monitor has a tick chart, a large time and sales window, a smaller time and sales window that filters for block prints. A position watch box to monitor my current positions and set price and stop alerts. Then I have three small charts accross the bottom of the screen. Chart 1 is an e mini 1 min bar covering the last 2 hours or so, it gives me market direction and is a leading indicator. Beside it I have a tick of e mini that is zoomed right in, it gives me a sense of how active the e mini is trading and what size prints are hitting the tape...again I use the e mini as a leading indicator and consider it essential (as do the other professional traders that I know). Beside it I have a the NYSE $TICK charted out and use it it primarily as an overbought /oversold indicator that helps me feel when is ripe for a turn or retracement.