Ideal leverage ratio based on volatility drag equation

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by wintermute0, Nov 6, 2019.

1. Hi, this is my first post. I'm an aspiring quant and finished my first blog post (part 1): https://smabie.github.io/posts/2019/10/04/vol.html

I was motivated to write this post by what I felt was unsound advice cautioning individuals from investing in leveraged index ETFs. I'm currently working on part 2 and am looking for some feedback. The general idea is that we can take modify the volatility drag equation (r_final = r - var/2) to incorporate leverage. After that we can take the derivative with respect to the leverage ratio to find the maximum return given a forecasted return and variance. In short, the ideal leverage ratio assuming a normal distribution is returns/variance.

I've looked for papers talking about this but can't find anything. I'm an amateur (I work as a quantitative developer, not a real quant), so I'm sure this is a known result. Anyone who could review the post and give me feedback and maybe links to papers covering this topic would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Magic

Magic

I skimmed your post, are you aware you can just cut to the chase and put mean return / sigma^2 to get a leverage figure for optimal leverage for maximizing logarithmic growth?

Optimal sizing for maximizing logarithmic growth is technically going to be a function of worst singular loss.. size via fraction of capital at risk for a given trade / period. Using expected long-term volatility or any sort of forecast for the sizing input is a little dangerous if you're flying so close to the sun at true max growth, because of unexpected jumps and the like. And an inefficiency at the wrong time can be very damaging to your overall return series and end result.