IB's Front End Software

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by quicktrader12, Apr 16, 2002.

1. I have been trading with IB for a couple of months now. In general I am very happy with them. The commission structure is great and the executions are generally pretty good.

The major gripe I have is with their front end software. It is not as flexible as say Real Tick or Redi Plus. It is very difficult do trade directly from a level II screen. And the GUI is not very good.

Does anyone else feel this way????

2. The software is fast and very reliable (the applet).
    As you cannot beat the price, i think it is unrealistic to
    demand something far-improved from IB.

I am happy with it, except when the quotes are slow.

The software itself is ok for me.

3. I'm very satisfied with IB. As for their software I use it strictly as a trading platform. I use eSig for quotes/Level II/etc. I agree that the low commissions justify a simple front end. Actually their software is quite easy to use once you get used to it.

I have all my core daytrading stocks and some daily scans loaded so all I have to do is click on the bid or ask.

Buy1Sell2 likes this.
  4. Their software is ecellent if you want quick execution ANDconfirmation of your orders with real time updating of your account.Until shown otherwise I will say IB does this job the best.

5. Catoosa

Catoosa

The software is the best! I think the quote feed has to be the worst I have experienced. IB needs to get this someway somehow corrected. I know IB is working on the quote problem.

Catoosa

6. Oh yes, their quote feed is horrendous. You don't know how many times the bid/offer doesn't jibe with eSignal's. Also last week their quotes were off badly for 2 days; they had INTC at 4 and change with a bid/offer in the thousands. It's a great broker but I'd go elsewhere for data and charting.