IB's commissions

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by who281, Jan 24, 2009.

1. who281

who281

First off I'm kinda new at this and dont know alot so im sorry if this is stupid..

I currently use Etrade with $9.99 commission..

I intra-day.. so i am doing anywhere from 30-65+ trades a day with 2500-5000+ shares..

now i keep hearing how IB has great commissions.. but even with Etrades high 9.99 flat rate it would be cheaper than IB with 3-5,000 shares?

ex. i made 40 trades 3,000 shares each.. so each trade (buy/sell) is $20 on Etrade..

on IB with their flatrate (.005 per share) that would be $30 ??

am i missing something here? or is IB not right for me?

I know they have "unbundled" but after reading that i am still slightly confused on what it is and it doesnt seem right for me??

EDIT: i also forgot to say i only trade Stocks/ETF's

2. UNLESS things have changed in the last few years I am almost certain you are giving away lots of $$$$$ potential profit in unfilled orders, slow fills and all the other nonsense that etrade tortures their customers with

3. if you are trading this much you really should consider opening up a account with a direct access trading firm. You need a real platform.

4. JackR

JackR

Who:

In general a direct access broker gets you better execution. If you improve your buy or sell by a penny per trade your are already ahead even at a $20 bundled commission cost.

However, your question can't really be answered without a bit more information. IB's unbundled rates may or may not be cheaper. It depends on your trading style - Do you always use limit orders? Market orders? Limits to enter and Markets to exit or vice versa? Market orders remove liquidity and limit orders add liquidity.