IB TWS w/QT, yer basic dummy here has 12 questions

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by mr simpleton, Oct 25, 2003.

1. hi guys :)

I'm an active trader. I use IB, with the QT interface.

my present acct is 'sub25K' in size, but is a margin acct. so I _can_ short stocks in this acct? (I shorted stuff in the past frequently, with datek, but my acct was vastly larger then).

to keep outside the PDT rule, I need to make less than 4 daytades, in what, per month? week? day?

also, if I buy a stock today and sell tomorrow, even if I buy today at say 7 PM eastern, and sell@say 8:15 AM tomorrow, that's NOT technically a daytrade, correct? no matter how MANY of these I do per day/week/month, right?

where, if anywhere, on the IB 'resident' TWS app, can I find a listing of trades made in earlier days or weeks, trade by trade?

also, where can I find, hopefully, an itemized list of all trades-related _fees_ charged to my account, per trade, or per day, or 'otherwise'?

what does "vwap" stand for, as in IB charges ".02/share for stocks - vwap"?

when I elect "close all" (in one of the TWS menu's, I think) I assume it means "sell all my longs at the current bid & cover all my shorts at the current ask' or, in other words, "go to all cash/flat" is that correct? or would I be selling my longs "at mkt" and covering "at market"? or is 'that difference' electable by the user?

In QT, I find the 'acct' window amazingly confusing - there's roughly 45 or so headings in there. is there anywhere I can read a real world definition of what all the headings in that window mean, hopefully "in plain english" Mr SImpleton can comprehend? <ps-the QT "help" menu gets me nowhere with this quest....>