IB TWS too complex

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by usman88, Feb 3, 2009.

1. usman88

usman88

I recently opened up an account on IB, however Ive been quite perplexed by the complexity of TWS. Ive been daytrading futures for the last 2 years and have used numerous softwares such as Strategy Runner, Ninja Trader and even simpler ones like Manxpress but TWS seems to be way outta my league. I tried using the demo but somehow it isnt working on my PC. Anyone know a detailed manual for TWS I can view online or download? or any online interactive help with screenshots? (the videos IB offers are not much help).

I am specifically facing problems in quick order entry and cancellation and how to view open orders abnd positions etc. To add to my worries a couple of threads here on ET suggest that stop orders are not displayed at all

2. verdo

verdo

hello

do you mean booktrader?

3. usman88

usman88

no not the booktrader. I trade futures only and specifically gold and crude oil futures. I am talking about the main TWS software.

4. in TWS:
    for example:
    Config - View - Other Layout - Portfolio
    here you can customize a lot of what you see.

there is a learning curve with TWS because it does give you a lot of opportunities to customize.

i would suggest playing with settings and then chat with support. some complain about poor support, but i got decent responses via chat.

5. Just keep using Ninja trader.

6. moarla

moarla

7. Bob111

Bob111

everything is pretty much explained here-
    http://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/p.php?f=tws&ib_entity=llc

there is a user guide,demo and requirements. remember, that you must have java 1.5 or higher installed before you run TWS.
    TWS may not work, if you tried on saturday or sunday before 12:00 ET