IB TWS: slow!, overloaded?

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by Canoe007, Jan 19, 2011.

1. Canoe007

Canoe007

Hello,
    I'm new to IB and with my paper account have been configuring TWS over the past week and a half (yes, I got to watch aapl yesterday while in my paper account - configuration not fully tested and unsafe to trade...).

I'm finding that the response to any clicks, even menus, is extremely slow. It got much worse after I added a chart to watch various Nasdaq securities (seven of them) auto-scaled on the same chart; now expanding the menu to show the hidden options takes eight to ten seconds! Dragging a chart around the desktop takes two to three seconds for the chart to physically catch up with the mouse.

I'm running:

* the main TWS window
    * the account window
    * two chart windows, three charts for one security in each window, with:
    • 1 minute chart in one time frame
    • 1 minute chart in another time frame
    • 1 sec line chart for ten minutes, with Chart Trader open, with chart trader enabled with eight custom buttons
    • all with Last, Bid and Ask in the margin, and showing trades on the chart
    • trendlines shared across charts
    • three MA indicators per chart, stochastic on one
    * two Book Trader windows with Level II, for the same securities as the tri-chart windows
    * a chart with seven Nasdaq securities auto-scaled (lines)

Questions:
    • Is this too much of a load for TWS?
    • Any idea where the bottle neck is?
    • What can I do to speed this up?
    • Can I throw a faster CPU at this to improve platform response?

Anyone with any ideas?

I don't know where to look next.

Thanks,

Canoe

I'm running TWS download version, 613.6, Java 1.6.23.
    Extra software is shut off (skype, openoffice loader, etc.) so the bare minimum is running.

Task Manager shows CPU usage ranges:
    core 0: 10% peaking 15%
    core 1: 20% peaking 25%
    core 2: 20% peaking 25%
    core 3: 25% peaking 35%