IB TWS Pre-open Re-route SMART order 3 min before bell

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by AeroKen83, Jun 2, 2006.

1. hope this is in the correct forum.

In IBs TWS, there is a feature where you can pre-open re-route SMART orders which enables you to execute an order 3 min before the bell,
    I like to place orders as soon as the NYSE opens or just before it opens.
    Im new at using IB TWS, I read the online help, read the IB tours, asked question to IB staff. But I want to make sure how other IB users place pre-open orders.
    IB said to place an MOO (Market-on-order) order by setting the TIF (Time in force) to OPG. and set the order type to MKT (Market). and set the exchange to SMART.

But, Im not quite sure about this setting, should I check or uncheck the box 'Regular trading hours only' . If it is uncheck and order is place before the bell, then order is cancelled and TWS says no major exchanges are open. If the box is check, the status dark blue light is on. and the order is executed once the market opens at 9:30am??

Another IB staff said to place an ECN order. But im not quite sure how to do that, do i select that in the 'contract selection' window?

Any help will be much appreciated.
    Thanks in advance

Ken

2. alanm

alanm

Quote from AeroKen83:
    In IBs TWS, there is a feature where you can pre-open re-route SMART orders which enables you to execute an order 3 min before the bell,

That is not what it does. The re-route feature takes an order that you have entered pre-market, which is currently live on an ECN, and re-routes it to the primary exchange (i.e. NYSE or AMEX) 3 minutes before the bell so it will be executed at the open (assuming it is marketable).

I like to place orders as soon as the NYSE opens or just before it opens.
    Im new at using IB TWS, I read the online help, read the IB tours, asked question to IB staff. But I want to make sure how other IB users place pre-open orders.