IB TWS + Macbook Pro 2018 Issues

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by jordanbaucke, Dec 8, 2018.

1. I have IB TWS (Trader Workstation) on a Macbook Pro 2018 (loaded i9, 32gb RAM etc).

The GUI is laggy, unresponsive, and downright buggy (opening a new window for example flickers and flashes before showing up) and sometimes tear-off windows get stuck in between monitors ( 2x4k displays ).

I'm just assuming this is symptomatic of their use of Java + Swing (I'm a software engineer so I'm assuming I recognize the types of interface)

I'm wondering if I switch to a Windows PC + a more powerful graphics card I would have fewer issues? Before I go out and spend the money though I'd like to get others opinions on TWS + Windows PC and see if they're having graphics issues as well?

Thanks

MoreLeverage likes this.
  2. southall

southall

I have a 2018 i9 Macbook pro with 32Gb as well. I do not run TWS daily on it but do have a backup installed.
    I just ran it to test, and did not get any of your symptoms, everything is fast and reponsive, although i cant say if things would still be like that after 8 hours also i did not have multi monitors during my quick test.
    Which version of the tws, jdk and macos are you running?
    I am running tws 972.1, jdk 1.8.191 and Mojave (10.14).

3. @southall (974.4e, jdk 1.8.0_162-b12, Mojava 10.14.1)

4. Can't speak for Mac but Re PCs you don't need a powerful video card. In fact cards that only support 2D are fully sufficient. I have an 810 NVS card which drives 8 screens.

5. Thinking about it - I maybe running Java 1.8 instead of Java 1.9, I will try to update the JRE and see what happens.

6. I recall that for PC it is advised to increased the maximum memory size (RAM) which may be used by TWS. It is set by default to approximately 700~800 MB and the advice is to increase this to 1.5~2 GB.