IB TWS freeze problem on BEST_ECN route?

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by fleance, Sep 4, 2001.

1. fleance

fleance

Hello,

I have been using IB for the past 4 months, initially as a backup to CyberCorp but now all the time once they added the BEST_ECN route.

I have been experiencing some performance problems with the BEST_ECN route off and on, but esp. today.

Often on MSFT and QCOM, the BEST_ECN best bid and best ask quotes would freeze and stop updating for 20-30 seconds. If I tried to place a limit order based on the correct quotes in my charting program (qcharts) by adjusting the price, the order would have a BLUE status, and it did not go live until the quotes unfreeze. Even if I submit a market order, the status does not go GREEN until the quotes unfreeze.

I noticed the problem got very bad on MSFT at the end of the day, but I was having problems even during the middle of the day.
    I did not have a BEST or ISLAND route up for MSFT so I'm not sure if the problem is just with BEST_ECN route or any route on MSFT.

I suspect IB has some problem because all my other applications (ravenquote, the java island book) did not show any problems.

Has anybody else had these problems? Thanks for your comments.

Fleance

2. ktm

ktm

I've had a similar problem. I also use Qcharts and IB TWS...running it on the web, not locally.

I submitted several orders today that stayed light blue. I tried to cancel them and they stayed pink. On the first two, I called IB and they manually cancelled them for me. After that, I had to shut the TWS down and restart it. In each case, it was fine after that...but it happened about 6-8 times today. Luckily, I use stops and they are much improved lately from my experience.