IB stops today?

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by AmbushHillbilly, Jan 31, 2003.

1. I'm a swing trader who can't watch the market all day. I had stop orders in on two different NYSE stocks this afternoon that should have hit. They're 'dark blue' status and using the SMART routing.

I've sent IB an e-mail, following an unproductive phone call.

Stocks went above my buy stop (was short) early in the afternoon and should have had a couple of hours to fill. My TWS was not up, but I had a stop limit fire off this morning (short, of course).

Did anyone else have problems today? These two stop orders happened to be part of bracket orders. I'm wondering if there is a glitch in their system?

2. Anyone have a stop problem with IB on Friday?

I'm not trying to bash IB: I've got no complaints with them so far.

I was just looking to see if mine was an isolated incident. Having two stop orders not fill on the same day (especially bracket order stops) is what really concerned me. I have similar orders in on other positions. I'm thinking tomorrow I cancel them and enter new OCA orders.

3. cheeks

cheeks

I had one NYSE stop that was hit Friday. It worked fine.

Just trying to give you a little feedback.:)

4. thanks for the feedback, cheeks. I'm a little suspect of IB's bracket orders, having just started using them. Still, there could be a dozen explanations for a stop being missed (but two of them on the same day?) I'll try to post the resolution if one is forthcoming.

thanks.

5. I did say I'd post the resolution. Here it is via e-mail from IB.

-----------------------------------------------------------
    Dear Trader,

Your stop order to pay 37.07 on a stop was not elected due to a technical issue. We would like to remind you that as stated in the customer agreement, the system is not warranted against technical issues. Steps are being taken to remedy the system.

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us.