Ib New Account

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by Mins, May 2, 2007.

1. Mins

Mins

I am considering opening an IB account however i have many concerns which have not been addressed by IB.

I am a University Graduate and i am currently self-employed. I wish to trade futures (CBOT, CME).

I will be trading 1-2 contracts at a time, most likely the YM.

I currently reside in the United Kingdom.

I will be depositing $40,000 USD into my futures account.

However, my problem is concerning margin, considering that i require $50,000 to trade one contract, i would require margin on my account.

The problem is that being a Grad student and self-employed; will i be able to qualify for some sort of margin on my account? I have zero assets and hence after my initial deposit i have no net worth.

I wish to trade under my account, however my alternative is to trade or create an advisor account for my father. He runs his own business and will obvioulsy get margin on his account.

My issue is with taxation, as in the UK i can get nearly $12,000 per year which is free from Capital Gains Tax (Income Tax). If i trade for my father he will not get this tax allowance as his business already generates profits way in excess of this mark.

What should i do? Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for the newbie type questions, i feel really foolish asking such dumb questions :(

2. Every futures acocunt is a margin account.
    Initial overnight margin for 1 YM is about 2800 $ at the moment, so you would need a minimum account balance of 5600 $ to open a 2-contract position. However, during RTH (regular trading hours), only 1/2 of the overnight margin is required.