IB 'Looking for shares' to short

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by FanOfFridays, Oct 26, 2007.

1. Entered a few orders to short tomorrow morning via TWS. Green Binoculars popped up and message says 'Order is being monitored and held. Shares for this short sale are not immediately available. The order will be held while we attempt to locate the shares'.

I'm new to IB so... can anyone give me an indication of how this usually plays out? I made them Day orders because obviously I don't want them triggering sometime in the future. Recent thread about IB orders triggering long after cancellation has me thinking here, that's for sure.

I know the obvious answer here is 'They are looking and will fill you at your limit or better if they find them'. Just want to see if anyone has any experience with this message.

Symbols are BTH, SVU, SYK

Thanks

EDIT: Wow!! Green Binoculars gone in the time it took me to type this! 0220 EST!!

2. I primarily trade futures, but I do trade stocks periodically. At one time I got a message of the type you're talking about. Later they sent me a message as I recall giving me a quote on how many shares I could borrow to short, and what it would cost me. (There was some type of nominal charge as I recall).

What they don't do is bing, bang, boom....you're in the trade.

As an aside, after 8 years of very heavy trading, I've never had a phantom order re-appear and suddenly execute. My suggestion is that you allow the thread in question to play out. Hopefully in the end you will find out what the facts are, because clearly out of the many, many customers and all of the total trades that take place, there are very few reports of this type of thing taking place. I wouldn't draw a conclusion right now.

OldTrader

3. Thanks OT. As you know I started to suspect that the ET bashers were generally just incompetents who couldn't be bothered to learn the platofrm.