IB: limit orders for commodity spreads?

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by TWolf, Apr 19, 2012.

1. TWolf

TWolf

Talked to IB rep; didn't get an answer I was comfortable with. Resulted in a confusing discussion of credit spreads vs debit spreads, orders being filled at market, etc. My current broker offers limit orders for spreads but the orders are NEVER executed properly; IB sounds like they might be the same.

Simple question, I would think:

Can I place limit orders on exchange recognized commodity spreads through IB?

I know I can do it through firms like Crossland or RCG, but I'm not a pro, just a profitable amateur so they're not really cost efficient for me when you factor in platform costs, data feeds, and commissions designed for high volume traders.

Cheers,
    Thom

2. def

def Sponsor

if you're talking future spreads - yes in our latest release

"Support for direct-routed native inter-commodity futures spreads is now available in TWS. To create an inter-commodity spread, enter the contract, for example HO.CL, on a ticker line and select Inter-commodity Spreads as the type. Hold your mouse over the spread to see the combo description. Hold your mouse over the blue star to see the price calculation. "

if you're talking options, which exchange/contracts ?

thanks

3. RobertG

RobertG

I do 5note/10note spreads right on the DOM
    if they are recognized spreads, you should be able to place limits no problem. I am not an IB customer, but I would assume that they would have the same.

RG

4. TraDaToR

TraDaToR

TWolf,

I am an IB customer. IB offers native futures calendar spread limit orders just like Crossland and RCG, but not native intercommodity spreads like Crack/Crush/Corn-wheat/ 5-10 years...

And IB only offers 1 level of depth for calendars.

5. Tradator -

Looks like they're starting to roll out the native 1:1 energy cracks in TWS 925, long time coming! Hopefully Brent/WTI and fixed income are not too far behind.