IB DDE Excel: is it now possible to automate trailing orders

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by allesim, Dec 10, 2001.

1. allesim

allesim

I am a newbie at DDE Excel programming, but I see a lot of potential in this new possibility nicely provided from IB

I apologize for my question if it sounds inappropriate, but is it now possible to automate trailing orders using DDE?

(I know IB is reluctant to accept Trailing Stops...)

I mean:
    suppose I am long 500 shares of MSFT which now trades at 65.
    Is it possible to create an order, residing on our excel system, which senses quotes (ASK) and periodically issues a racketing STOP order in this way:

MSFT rises (on ASK) at 66: my Excel will issue (or prompt me to issue) a stop sell order 500 shares at 65.5 (trailing = .5)

MSFT rises (on ASK) at 66.3: my predefined .3 set-theshold is reached: therefore I wish Excel to refresh my trailing stop:
    now my Excel engine will (automatically)
    - cancel previous stop order
    - issue a new trailing stop order (or prompt me to issue) to sell 500 shares at 65.8 (trailing = .5)

Please apologize again if this all sounds silly.

Thanks

2. dozu888

dozu888

it sure can be done.

and it's easier to modify the stop than to cancel old/ recreate new.

3. docarzt

docarzt Guest

yes, it is possible.
    Right now I try to do this for trades on a daily basis. I use Visual Basic and Excel to control the trades/orders. At the moment it's just on an experimental basis, but it is possible.

hopefully IB will add more features to DDE, until now it's not possible to send OCA-orders order GTC-orders. Having access to the accountsize or an option to get all open orders, or even better an option to cancel all open orders would be great.

doc

4. bennyo

bennyo Guest

Yes, it possible. Even from within other programs/languages.