IB DDE API: Help needed on execution requests...

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by TraDaToR, Oct 20, 2008.

1. TraDaToR

TraDaToR

Hello,

IB API newbie here so don't be too harsh...Please...

I have a system that generate buy and sell limit orders on both side
    of the order book and does a lot of cancel/replace... That part is
    fine... Limit orders update fine...

The problem is I don't know how to request if one of the 2 orders
    have been filled. I use an id generator for orders so I obviously
    don't know what the ids are for my 2 open orders and I want to enter
    new orders as soon as one is filled. What is the easiest way to know
    what are your position in your portfolio? Is their a way to just get
    your current position on IB portfolio without having to get the order
    id.

Also, if someone wants to share a well made id generator , it would
    be great 'cause mine is quite crooked...

Thanks a lot and good trade.

2. The best way to generate an ID is have IB do it for you... when you connect to the socket IB will call a function on your eWrapper called next valid id:

Function
    virtual void nextValidId(OrderID orderId)

Parameters
    orderId - The next available order ID received from TWS upon connection. Increment all successive orders by one based on this ID.

Notes
    This function is called after a successful connection to TWS.

If you want an example for this, checkout http://code.google.com/p/tradelink/source/browse/trunk/BrokerServers/TWSServer/TWS_TLWM.cpp

SendOrder function on line 136
    nextValidid function on line 234

The other thing you can do if you don't want to track IDs, is you can do a reqAccountUpdates, which will then call updateAccountValue and updatePortfolio whenever your positions change... OR you can just handle orderStatus and look for the 'Filled' status id.

http://individuals.interactivebrokers.com/php/apiguide/apiguide.htm