IB : basic excel formula question

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by TraDaToR, Apr 20, 2009.

1. TraDaToR

TraDaToR

Hello,

I am trying a new way to create DDE commands without using much VBA macros...

Let's say you want to request datas for ES , you type =myname|tik!id1?req?ES_FUT_200906_GLOBEX in a cell.

If the instrument( ES )is in cell A1 and expiry( 200906 ) is in B1, why doesn't it work if I use the following formula in the cell :

= "=myname|tik!id1?req?" & A1 & "_FUT_" & B1 & "_GLOBEX". The code is created fine but it seems no DDE link are created. I should have a "0" in the cell instead of =myname|tik!id1?req?ES_FUT_200906_GLOBEX. If I use VBA to create the same code, it works. ???

How can I work around that? I know it's more of an excel problem than TWS API but I was thinking some here had the same problem.

Thanks a lot for your help

2. travis

travis

I hope I understood correctly, and that I won't make you waste your time. I am a beginner as a vba programmer, but I came across similar problems before.

On that workbook you should have a "Tickers" sheet, to request quotes which, once requested via the button "request market data", keep on updating themselves automatically.

The DDE strings that you are mentioning ("=myname|tik!id1?req?ES_FUT_200906_GLOBEX ") won't update automatically because that string is created and updated by excel only if you push the "request market data" button. You can't just make them up yourself and expect them to get data from TWS.

You can then copy DDE strings to other sheets but only the "=myname|tik!id4?last" strings and similar, and they will update but - I think - only if they are updating already on the Tickers sheet, after you activated the "requestMarketData" macro.

I may have written a lot of imprecisions as vba is not my mother tongue.

3. TraDaToR

TraDaToR

Thanks a lot Travis,