IB and Amazon EC2 (Linux)

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by fielman, Jan 26, 2011.

1. fielman

fielman

I am considering moving my automated trading system (using IB Java API) to Amazon EC2 to lower my latency and / or improve connectivity (I live in South Africa) and to be able to travel light when I feel the need.

I am a newbie with Amazon EC2 and Linux. Why Linux then? Mostly costs, and secondly I believe you need less resources to run a Java IB API efficiently on Linux vs Windows.

My problem is how do I log into IB (Gateway or TWS) without being able to log in remotely? How will I be able to see what security codes to enter (from my security card).

Is there a way to remote desktop to a Linux server, or is their a way to retrieve the requested security codes in the Java API?

Another possibility is to install the Ubuntu Desktop version on Amazon EC2 to be able to remote desktop from wherever. I got this idea from maxdama's website. I don't know if this is very inefficient.

How do you use IB in conjunction with Amazon EC2 (or any other server solution)?

2. You can remotely access Linux by creating a ssh session using password or public key authentication (best) and then tunnel vnc back to your computer. This way you can securely access the desktop of the computer you are managing with full access to the GUI and everything is running over an encrypted tunnel. This will allow you to enter the codes when TWS first starts up. You would probably want to add IBController as well to keep TWS running continuously. PM me if you need any specific help with this. I don't have any experience with Amazon EC2 yet. Sounds like a pretty cool service though. Good luck.

3. LeeD

LeeD

First, you will need a xWindow (graphics interface for Linux) installed in order to run TWS or IB Gateway because Java requires it. You can install it on the server version of Linux but you can as well go with a desktop version.