I wrote an algorithm that will give you a stock that will make .5% the next day...BUT

Discussion in 'Trading' started by selrod0324, Oct 22, 2010.

1. First off, my background is not economics or related to stock it all; it is Applied Physics and Computer Science; so any naivety comes in regard to economics from pure ignorance.

I'm currently using yahoo stock quote API for datafeeds for acquiring approximately minute by minute data for all stocks on the Nasdaq and NYSE.

I then inject this into a SQL database were I have algorithms that essentially analyzes the entire NASDAQ and NYSE data from the previous day and spits out a stock which will make 0.5% the next day. Running this algorithm against historical data from 8-20-2009 through 8-19-2010, I was right 135 out of 187 times (or 72.19% of the time...) [note that I do not take into account Mondays or days after holidays]

The HUGE caveat is that while 72% of the time I am guaranteed to make money if I put a limit order at 0.5%, I also have to put a lower limit order not to lose alot of money as while its highly likely to gain 0.5%; it will also throughout the day be very highly likely to drop a few % ....:(

2. Inject this

3. Huh?

4. Ain't life a bitch?

5. Lol yah, Currently im trying to analyze the likelihood of it hitting the .5% before going below .5% (my cutoff point).

Unfortunately, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is...but i've been writing and tweaking the algorithms for 3 years...

In the next few months im going to test it IRL and then probably cry

6. S2007S

S2007S

:p

I thought the same thing.

7. Im trying to get access to all tick by tick or at least minute by minute data for the NYSE, Nasdaq and AMEX to run my simulation engine against a more complete dataset....

Do any of you guys take and analyze your own data programatically?

8. What is the success of getting .5% before losing .5%? If you are over 50% you may have something?