I will code your strategy

Discussion in 'Trading' started by xidous, Dec 4, 2004.

1. xidous

xidous

Fellow ET'ers
    I am a 100% automated systems trader. I have my strategies running throughout the day, and all I have to do is babysit them. Naturally, I have a lot of free time sitting in front of my computer. I am a professional software engineer, (work odd hours) and am willing to code your ideas for you, for free, with the only caveat that I am privvy to sharing in any successful strategies developed together. I can give you a full tradestation report of historical testing of any strategy (day/minute/tick bar). If you are a non-programmer and interested, send me a PM and we can get started.

2. With all due respect... How can you consider yourself a professional ATS trader if your using tradestation?

IMO, It's not possible to get professional performance with something that's not homegrown and written in "C", "C++" or the like.

3. sonnet

sonnet

Completely subjective and pointless comment.

It really depends on what the trading strategy is. The needs of the strategy determine what technology is needed to implement.

4. Well yes very true, it depends on whether the strategy is acceptable to lag and limitation of course.

5. xidous

xidous

ktmex,
    You are totally correct in that TS is 100% unacceptable for trading rapid short term strategies. The data lag/chart freezing/etc is horrible. However, I only trade longer "position trade" oriented strategies, holding periods of hours to days. I also enter only on order that are "resting" in the market, aka stops/limits. Since my orders are submitted already, even a complete shutdown of TS will not stop my strategies. I find TS to be useful for testing short-term styles as well, even if you cannot use them as the brokerage to trade with.

6. kacija

kacija

xidous