I was a senior trader. Now I’m a programmer. Here’s why

Discussion in 'Wall St. News' started by trader99, Apr 17, 2018.

1. trader99

trader99

https://news.efinancialcareers.com/us-en/312931/algo-trader-trading-programmer-coding/?mi_u=546,535,002&utm_campaign=JS_EDI_MC&utm_source=AMS_US_ENG&utm_medium=EM_NW&mi_locale=us-en

"I had a great 25-year run as a Wall Street trader, but I have had to adapt to stay relevant. I have focused on learning to code in C#, C++, Java, R, Python, HTML5, .NET Framework, T-SQL and others in order to appeal to employers in the financial services industry. Now I’m coder instead.

Trading is a dying business. Electronic trading is growing. Every human trader still has to compete against many other human traders for a shrinking number of seats. Everyone is facing decreasing margins, so unless you can code, grasp data science and have other quantitative skills, forget about job security.

Big banks from Goldman and RBS to UBS and Nomura have replaced most of their equity traders with IT guys, market-making off of the automated-trading programs. It makes sense in this environment when it’s almost a liability to have the traders making public markets, because there’s a greater chance for them to skirt the rules. Now they can tell a regulator, “The algorithmic-trading program screwed up,” as opposed having to a human trader with fat fingers to blame."

elitenapper, digitalnomad and Xela like this.
  2. Xela

Xela

His perspective seems perfectly reasonable to me, in the sense that if someone's primary ambition is to get a job and be an employee, programming clearly offers more opportunities than trading.