I want to daytrade, but only have $10,000

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by QQQTRADER, Sep 27, 2001.

1. QQQTRADER

QQQTRADER

Does anyone know where I can still day trade with only $10,000.

I don't want to risk more.

I'm using Cyber now, I got an email stating I'm a Pattern Day Trader and I need $25,000 starting Firday.

Please Help,

QQQTrader:confused:

2. mjt

mjt

3. tuna

tuna

4. Fohat

Fohat

QQQTRADER,

Since your name suggests that you are familiar with QQQ trading I can suggest you learn to daytrade 1 emini Nasdaq futures contract (denoted NQ).

1 NQ = 800 QQQ approx., so It'll be almost the same as daytrading 800 QQQ shares. Have you traded QQQ?

So basically it'll allow you to daytrade 800 QQQ shares (= 1 NQ). With the additional benefit of lower commissions ($2.95/contract or lower) and no partial fills, unlike 800 QQQ.

Your leverage in this case will be 800 QQQ : 10k or around the reasonable 2:1 level.

The initial margin for one Emini futures contract currently is: $1,080 for Dow emini, $4,313 for s&p Emini, $5250 for Nasdaq emini, maintenance margin is lower.

Yes, only $1080 for one Emini Dow futures contract. 1 Dow Emini = 200 DIA. Although possible, I don't recommend 2k accounts trading emini Dow futures. It remains to be seen what its liquidity is. Leveraged trading is not for everyone! I suggest at least 8k account for trading 1 Dow emini, which will give around 2:1 leverage or lower.

Learn and papertrade as much as possible. You'll have the benefit on focusing on one diversified investment vehicle. Risk management is essential with any leveraged investment.

Check also the thread http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?threadid=2341

Fohat

5. Fohat

Fohat

QQQTRADER,

You have also the following options:

1. Daytrade options.
    I would not recommend that because of: big spreads (frequently 10%+), low liquidity and some anti-daytradiong option exchange rules.

2. Switch to a prop. firm.