I want to be a derivatives trader. (UK based)

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by cumblechook, Feb 23, 2007.

1. I have been checking out Elite Trader for a while before i opened an account. I have a strong interest in economics even though I studied chemistry. I am 29, I am self sufficient, I ran my own business right out of UNi.

I want advice on how to get into the industry with training on the job. Prop houses appeal to me the most beacause of the training and developmet and so on.
    I am numerate (my mental arithmetic is good) Are there any avenues i need to explore?

I have applied to Optiver and waiting for a reply.

What copmpanies should i consider applying to in london?

I know GHCO are not recruiting at the moment.

I just want a shot,
    Advice anyone???

2. Amsterdam houses a number of Trading houses, including IMC one of Optiver's main competitors. Most IB trading houses have offices out of London, so does Liquid capital.

3. KS96

KS96

My bet is that Optiver will think that you are too old for them, which is b*llsh*t.

btw, I want to be a movie star :D

4. curtains

curtains

Optiver will most probably say you have too much experience (you are too old). IMC are more likely to allow you through to interview/testing stage. Study up on your rapid math skills.

5. Do they actually discriminate on the basis of an applicant's age, or are you assuming they do so? If they do, then YES, that's BULLSHIT!

6. Dogfish

Dogfish

For UK prop firms just hit everyone on this list and find out what deal/training they are offering. Some of them are awful and others are great but it depends what suits you geographically your openess to risk - whether you want to be a spread trader or an outright long end trader etc.

http://www.trade2win.com/traderpedia/Trading_Arcade_Index