I use small lot sizes cuz I'm a noob ($9.63 profit today!) *pic*

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by IronFist, Feb 28, 2007.

1. Today:

Short 600 INTC @ $19.93
    Cover 472 INTC @ $19.89
    Cover 128 INTC @ $19.89

(no clue why it split the order into two identical priced lots)

Profit after commission: $9.63!

Recently, when I make my occasional day trades, I've been using $15k lots. Today I was feeling cautious so I scaled back to $11k or so.

The price hit $19.88 for a sec, but I didn't get out cuz I didn't have a stop. Then it went back up to $19.90, $19.91, I got scared. I said if it hit $19.89 I would sell for a 4 cent per share profit. I put in a limit order and watched it fiddle around $19.91-$19.93. I got scared that it might start to go back up and I'd have to manually cover for a loss at a higher price and then cancel my stop at $19.89. It hit $19.90 a few times, but bounced back to $19.91 or $19.908 a few times, and I'm like "just one more cent down!" Finally, it hit $19.89, my order went through, and I was like "sweet!" Is it normal to be nervous as hell from the time you press "send order" until you press "send order" again to close it out?

Naturally, a few seconds after I covered, it went a little lower But I'm happy with my $9.63 profit. Of course, if I was using InteractiveBrokers instead of Scottrade it would be a few bucks more profit (less commission).

I wish I had more time to write now because I'd like to turn this thread into a "position sizing based on price and range" discussion.

I cropped my indicators so you guys can't steal my secretzzzzzzzzzz

[​IMG]

2. I can't decide if I'd be more comfortable with:

Big lot sizes waiting for smaller movements to take profits (shorter time holding the position). This way could get me stopped out earlier.