I trade like I play golf ?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by jessop, Sep 23, 2005.

Do you trade like you play golf

Poll closed Sep 30, 2005.
  1. I trade exactly like I play golf

17 vote(s)
    32.7%
  2. I am a good trader and lousy golfer

10 vote(s)
    19.2%
  3. I am a lousy trader but a good golfer

4 vote(s)
    7.7%
  4. I trade but I hate golf

21 vote(s)
    40.4%
  1. jessop

jessop

Just to check out whether you golfing traders – trade like you golf and vice versa

I’ve just come back from whacking 150 golf balls senseless at my local driving range, and I was thinking how close the ‘mind game’ challenges are in my trading and my golf game.

For example,

1. At the driving range I probably hit 80% of my drives pretty much flush, but when on that first tee with your mates and a few others watching the initial drive, turns into a life & death experience….This to me is like the emotional gulf between Sim trading and live trading.

2. Good rounds that turn into bad rounds usually result from either:
    a) me scoring great at first then start thinking about scores rather than just the next swing or course management decision
    b) a really crap hole where you score 7, 8 etc and then you let it ruin the rest of your round….

To me that translates in trading into – a) don’t think $$$$ just think of the next signal & next exit period – b) a loser (bad hole) is just going to happen – get over it - probability says it will happen

3. My best round ever was when I was so laid back with some mates – cracking jokes all the way around – it was almost like the golf was a distraction… I think this is the zone that applies to trading and golf – where you are acting on auto pilot

4. When you start golf its 90% technique (finding a swing) and 10% mental (getting motivated to practice). Once you find a swing you're comfortable with it switches to 90% mental / 10% technque. That sums up finding a system to trade with then getting some emotional control.