I Think I Found the Holy Grail

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Corso482, Jan 19, 2003.

1. Ok, the reason I'm posting this is because I'm new to system development, so I don't even know what is good or what means anything.

So I've been tinkering with system development for a while now, and I've come up with a system that returns about 200% a year on stocks, no margin, 1% of total capital risked per trade and about 5% max dd. The system is only about 6 lines of code, so it's extremely simple. It's got about 50% more winners than losers, and avg. winner is about 5X the avg. loser. I've backtested it back to 1997. The system trades a 5 min chart.

The above results seem too good to be true. Have I found something spectacular? Or do most system developers have systems like this hidden in their drawers? Do these results have any chance of working in the real world?

BTW, the reason the stats are so rough is because stockwatch pro doesn't give you many stats on the results page and I don't have excel to do all the calculations. So for max dd, I just eyed up the results manually and did what I could on Microsoft spreadsheet.

2. Commission / Slippage accountability for the system?

3. what's the standard practice? how much money are you supposed to start out with in testing?

4. But slippage shouldn't be a huge deal, this isn't a scalping system

5. sooooo, tell us about it. :p

6. Corso482,

Try trading the system with real dollars for a day or a week or so. At the end of each day, run that day's data through the backtester to see what papertrades the system was supposed to make. Chances are, a combination of two outcomes will occur:

1) that day's papertrades will be unprofitable because your backtesting was over-optimized (i.e. you found a system that worked very well in the past, but no longer works in the present or future)