I screwed up, I'm still learning.

Discussion in 'Options' started by Arnie Guitar, Apr 19, 2006.

1. I have to remember to include earnings season into my decision to take a position.
    I have an April call vertical, and an April put vertical(iron condor?) on a stock, and I was thinking, why are these premiums so fat? Then last week I learned that they announce this week:eek:......duh, what a dope. I'm tempted to close them out, but I am pretty far OTM, I'm just afraid not far enough...

I have alot to learn.:(

I can see where diagonals are a little safer.:)

2. This close to expiration you could likely take your credit spreads off for a profit, depending on when you first sold them. If you can capture 80% of the credit you've done well.

3. I'm not trying to turn you away from options trading at all, just giving you my experience.

I'm going to get back into trading full-time soon so I went over my logs I kept during my 4+ years of trading. One thing I found was that in the first 2 years I did pretty well just using the same strategy over and over again. Equity day trading with 20min-5hour holding time.

It wasn't until I started trading options that things started getting more and more difficult. Other things came into play too like taking my capital out to get married and buy a house.

To be trading options you really need to have a deep understanding of them. And I mean DEEP.

Best of luck and keep us up to date on your progress.