i-Routing, market order, and NITE executio

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by viewpoint, Nov 27, 2002.

1. Yesterday, I opened a long position in NXTL, with a market order, using my broker's automatic routing. The order was routed to NITE and was filled quickly.

But when I tried to close the position by Sell at Market, i-routing again, it was routed to NITE again, and took 17 second to fill. Look ...

Order Time: 11/26/02 3:11:19
    Reported Time: 11/26/02 3:11:36

Action: Sell Ticker: NXTL

Quantity: 700 Price: 12.880

Commission: 0.00* Broker: NITE

(*I got a free trade because I had resolved a dispute with the broker.)

(I'm new to DAT trading), I was using market sell order to exit the long as quickly as possible. Turns out that I lost another 2 cents while I was waiting for the fill.

I called the broker and was told that, NITE might have had orders ahead of me, but 17 seconds seem a bit of stretch, normally market orders are filled within a few seconds.

Later on, I was also told that, if I send a market order, it goes to a market maker only, not an ECN, and I will get the NBBO price I'm looking at only if the market maker is represented at the NBBO (inside price), otherwise I must wait until the market maker is represented at a NBBO before my order is filled. (which presumably might be much worse fill than what I was looking at.)

1) Based on this info, I might not use market order again, not knowing when it will get filled.

2) I need to familiarize myself with different market makers and how they operate. My broker can route to Knight, Schwab Capital Markets and Goldman. If I trade fewer than 1000 shares, and only trade liquid stocks like NXTL which is the best market maker to ever route to?