I really need to get a new broker

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by ron2368, Oct 7, 2001.

1. ron2368

ron2368

I have been using Preferred Trade for about 18 months. I found their name at the EliteTrader site and they seemed like a huge improvement over NDB which I had been using.

Most of my trades are single day or multi day swing trades, I do about 12 rt per week. For data I use Quote.com which is fairly decent except in very active markets it can be slow. That does not impact my trading method but can be stressful in the 1 or 2 times a month where I need to make a trade decision and qcharts is dragging.

I like the Preferred software, its really easy to use and virtually trouble free. Their customer service is horrible, long phone waits and they either dont return messages sent thru their software or reply an hour later which I find unprofessional and intolerable. They have deteriorated alot this year. I am also getting tired of getting screwed by their 775 trade feature, which they route to herzog and nite. I have spoken with Preferred about these problems 3 -4 times over the last few months and my impression is they could care less.

I downloaded trials for
    rediplus... way too much complicated stuff I dont need and hard to use
    cyberx2.... really wierd software, ugly, froze my puter repeatedly

Thats where I am at, I am open to any suggestions. Thank you

2. BigEd

BigEd

Check out Interactive Brokers, www.interactivebrokers.com

I left Preferred about 18 months ago due to the exact reasons you cite. I can't imagine they have gotten any better since I left and it's scary to imagine that you've tolerated it for as long as you have.

Cybertrader is head and shoulders above Preferred, but I haven't used CyberX for at least a year, so I can't comment about it specifically. I get Cybertrader Pro and the cyber data feed for free due to my trading level, but lately have been trading more on Interactive Brokers.