I need HELP

Discussion in 'Journals' started by quotetrader, Feb 27, 2009.

1. Hello Everyone-

I am new to the EliteTrader forums. I decided to start a journal here in the hopes that I may get some help from experienced traders.. to possibly point out my mistakes and bad logic and get me on track.

This week marked a bad point in my trading "career"

My daytrading account fell below the $25,000 minimum and I got "the call" to add funds or no more daytrades for me.

At this point, I'm taking a break, as I don't feel I know anything more than I did on Tuesday, when I made a fatal short that lost me $1000+ and put me under $25k

So for now, my journal will consist of some examples of past trades and methods I was using- so that you all can get an idea of what I've been doing and hopefully point out to me where I've been going wrong.

Thankfully, I've kept pretty good logs/notes of my recent trading, along with charts, etc So I plan to post it all here for your review.

But first, let me tell you a little bit about myself and my history with trading.

I've been dabbling in daytrading for about 10 years now, on and off.

I first became interested in it around 1999 or so- I was trying to remember how it first caught my attention and I really can't remember.

I opened a Datek account in 1999-2000 or so, and somewhere around that time started getting very interested in the notion of daytrading.

Back then, there wasn't any good trading software that I could find that didn't cost a ton of money every month.

There was the Datek order entry page thing, which I recall was very clunky.. and some external javascript based entry thing called "Da-Slinger" or something like that. Thats what I used in the beginning, and for my charts I used QuoteTracker which was free, and could create realtime charts from my Datek stream.

During this period I was 100% in the dark. I had no idea what I was doing, complete guesswork.

I lost some money, and rightfully so.