I need career advice. Degree in Computer Enginerring?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by cheeks, Feb 4, 2003.

1. cheeks

cheeks

I would really appreciate some help.

Here is my situation. I'm 28. I graduated in 1998 with a Degree in Finance from a regional business school. When I left school I wanted to trade more than anything in this world. I tried to get a trading related job somewhere on Wall Street, but it did not work out. I was so determined to trade that I decided to wait tables at night so I put together a trading stake and trade during the day. Unfortunately, I was trying to pay off a lot of college debt at the same time.

Four years later, I find myself still slightly in debt and struggling to make enough money to not have to drain my tiny trading account to pay bills. This is simply not working. My college friends are starting to become successful in their career paths and I am starting to feel more like a loser everyday.

For a number of reasons I would like to get into a professional field that would allow more stability(read a family). Then once I have a steady income, trade on the side.

While I do have a degree in finance, it is not going to open any big doors at this moment. I have been out of school for 4 years mostly waiting tables. Plus, trading is the only area of finance I would want to work in.

Here is my question:
    Should I go back to school and get a degree in computer science/engineering? I could go to North Carolina State as an in state student and pay less than $4000 a year in tuition. Unfortunately(LOL!), I have alot of experience waiting tables. I should be able to pay my way thru school borrowing very little/if any money. Not to mention my trading account would pay for the first year anyway.

I know a number of you have IT backgrounds and I would really value your input.

2. dozu888

dozu888

In case you 've been living on Mars for the past couple of years... the IT boom is OVER.