I made my last 438 k mortgage payment just now. My bank doesn't seem happy.

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Calculator2, Mar 7, 2010.

1. So I make my last payment and bank that never made a mistake on how much I owe them suddenly starts making mistakes on last few payments. (mistake to their benefit)

I was always polite and patient in correcting these mistakes no matter how long I have to be on the phone. Because I knew I was gonna pay it off soon and wouldn't let it bother me.

Not even a congratulations on my last payment. Not even Thank you It was a pleasure doing business with you for the last 8 years.

Why do I get the feeling that my bank doesn't like people that pay mortgage on time and over the set payment whenever possible. I get the feeling they would be more polite to a deadbeat.

2. pupu

pupu

Not to many greedy fat pigs like to see their slaves go free

3. I understand that. Still if I was a bank employee or manager I would muster up a "congratulations"

I thought this is proper etiquette. Maybe these younger employees have different professional culture :confused:

4. Lethn

Lethn

Banks HATE people who pay off their debts and so do credit card companies. You have to realize our entire ecnomic system is based off debt and credit so when people start being wise with their money and save that is when the banks and credit card companies start to lose. A lot of them are used to the boom and bust culture almost to the point of fantacism so naturally they're going to not want you paying off anything you owe.

Just pat yourself on the back and slap them in the face the next time they try and call you about insurance when they shouldn't.

5. 377OHMS

377OHMS

Nice work! Congratulations!

I know, I know, they say it isn't advantageous to pay off your mortgage. I say bullshit. Nothing is sweeter than paid-for real estate. I usually try to get a 15-year note for just that purpose.